Soundscape of Manchu Pichu

20131103-161316.jpg

Manchu Pichu was found accidentally in 1911 by a Yale professor who was searching for a different Incan City. He came across this city at a time when the city was covered by vegitation. He began escavsting and found 164 skeletons. He named this place Manchu Pichu (old mountian) because there were no documents indicating its Incan name, therefore, naming it after the mountain to which it sat on. This great city consists of many terristing designed by the Incan’s which allowed for agriculture that way it could support its population. They know the population size was about 1,000 people due to land size and amount of houses. This was a great location because it was high in the mountains and they know they we’re safe from any raiders but the question still remains, why was this ancient city abandoned? There is no evidence of Spanish colonizers raiding due to no documents and no one knows where they went either. I felt as if this would be a great spot for a sound scape to think back to the times when people once lived here. How quiet it must have been and to think about what sort of struggles it took living here

As I sit on the edge of on the terisits looking out on the city, i think about what made someone want to build a city this high in the mountains. I can’t picture any person building this city because of how large the rocks where. How tedious this building was and I wonder how many people died from falling off the edges. All these questions up in the air gets me thinking about how much metal and physical power it must have taken these people to build this place. It must have had a strong meaning behind it to drove these people to deadly situations. Such a place like this is a wonderful place to let your mind wonder and think back to the Incan time when people once walked here. Now, I think about why this place has become such a tourist attraction. Are people really interested in looking through the eyes of the Incan’s, or does the landscape make for great pictures? This place definitely has challenged me mentally and physically. Physically because of how high the altitude is and how difficult it is to breath up here and mentally because one step off the edge and I am facing instant death. I would also like to know how much longer this place is going to last. The archetecture is the same here as in Cusco like I said in the previous blog. Large stones fitting together perfectly to have the most stable structures resistant to earthquakes. This city, with the exception of one spot, has remained perfectly intake but my question now is, is all the torristing spreading up the process of this cities life span? There is no doubt in my mind that that is the case. I see a man taking pictures on top of an area that was blocked off. I see archeologists picking away at the stones so that no vegetation grows, I see pathways created on the grass from people walking. This all spreads the process of wearing out the landscape. How are we going to change this place. I hope that we do nothing and that people learn to respect this place as much as I am looking out over it. Listening to all the people and seeing how much us humans have polluted this area ( because pollution means things are placed where they are not suppose to be) has really upsets me. I am upset that I was apart of this pollution but also happy that this place was found. I would have never gotten a chance to have this experience if I didn’t slow down and listen with my eyes over this spiritual city.

20131103-161311.jpg

Leave a Reply

